top of page

Entry Visa Requirement Lifted for Citizens of South Africa and certain South American countries

On the 15th of June, the Government announced the lifting of the temporary entry and transit visa restrictions for nationals of South Africa, Brazil and other South American countries that came into effect on 28 January 2021, due to COVID-`19.

The Minister for Justice announced the reversal of the restrictions and confirmed that nationals of the following countries are again exempt from the requirement to obtain entry visas (including transit visas) to travel to the Republic of Ireland.

  • Argentina

  • Bolivia

  • Brazil

  • Chile

  • Guyana

  • Paragua

  • South Africa

  • Uruguay

Columbia, Ecuador, Peru, and Suriname remain on the list of countries whose nationals require a visa to enter the State, although they will not require a transit visa.

For the original announcement please see the Department of Justice Website.

The team at Future Direct welcome this news, as we have seen the disruption and hardship, this restriction had caused to the individuals involved. Future Direct specialises in Irish employment permits and immigration. We are happy to advise you on your case should you require assistance. Call us today at +353 872400433 or email


bottom of page