top of page

Changes to 'Category' 2 Countries for Mandatory Hotel Quarantine

Since 26 March 2021, Mandatory hotel quarantine has been put in place, all passengers arriving into Ireland from ‘Category 2’ countries must comply, in an effort to prevent the spread of Covid-19. In recent weeks, further four more countries were removed from the mandatory hotel quarantine list. These are Belgium, France, Luxembourg, and the United States. Passengers travelling from or via these States on that day evening with immediate effect will not require to enter quarantine in a designated hotel.

All those intending to travel to Ireland from or via any designated countries/territories are required to book accommodation for mandatory hotel quarantine in advance of travel.

The Minister for Health has designated the following 51 countries as designated States for the purposes of mandatory hotel quarantine:


Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cape Verde, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe


Bahrain, Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, The Philippines, United Arab Emirates



North America:

Canada, Costa Rica, Panama

South America:

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, Venezuela

Future Direct is closely monitoring the situation as it develops, and our immigration team is available to answer any of your queries. We highly recommend that anyone considering travel to Ireland should consult the following Government website before travelling to Ireland.


bottom of page